March 8, 2019


I will be sending out a summary soon of our EMAT Day on the hill activities but I wanted to get this information out to the membership because it is time sensitive.  Member Ken Weidner brought our attention to a bill (SB 1237/HB 623) that seeks to amend T.C.A. 8-34-37 relative to retirement.  In summary, it proposes to lower eligibility for retirement to 25 years for law enforcement officers who are participating in TCRS.  Ken reported that he and some others have been in contact with one of the bill sponsors and that the version that will go for vote on Monday will also include firefighters.  You can view the bill at:  http://wapp.capitol.tn.gov/apps/BillInfo/Default.aspx?BillNumber=SB1237&ga=111

 

The EMAT board did an electronic vote yesterday and agreed that the official EMAT position is to support this bill.  While not directly impacted as a profession, we support our members who would benefit from this change.  Please help support this position by contacting the committee membership and ask them to vote yes for SB1237/HB623.  If you have any questions, feel free to contact me. 

 

Thanks,

 

Brian

 

Pensions & Insurance Contact List

 

Chair: Senator Bo Watson(615) 741-3227

sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov

 

Vice Chair: Representative Susan Lynn (615) 741-7462

 rep.susan.lynn@capitol.tn.gov

 

Senator Paul Bailey (615) 741-3978

sen.paul.bailey@capitol.tn.gov

 

Senator Brenda Gilmore (615) 741-2453

Sen.Brenda.Gilmore@capitol.tn.gov

 

Senator Joey Hensley (615) 741-3100

sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov

 

Senator Jack Johnson (615) 741-2495

sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

 

Senator John Stevens (615) 741-4576

sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov

 

Representative Patsy Hazlewood  (615) 741-2746

rep.patsy.hazlewood@capitol.tn.gov

 

Representative Gary Hicks (615) 741-7480

rep.gary.hicks@capitol.tn.gov

 

Representative Andy Holt (615) 741-7847

rep.andy.holt@capitol.tn.gov

 

Representative William Lamberth (615) 741-1980

rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov

 

Representative Brandon Ogles (615) 741-6808

rep.brandon.ogles@capitol.tn.gov

 

Representative Rick Staples (615) 741-0768

rep.rick.staples@capitol.tn.gov

 

Click here for a bill report for 3/8/2019.